Transport Planning

Is there anyone on this board which has experience of doing this type of work?

What kind of skills are needed for the role? Do they now use software to assist? I am a HGV driver and I’ve applied for such a role. Any information would be most welcome.

Fragonard:

What kind of skills are needed for the role? Do they now use software to assist? I am a HGV driver and I’ve applied for such a role. Any information would be most welcome.

Skills? :laughing: :laughing:
Judging by the knowledge and abilities of many of them, as long as you have a pulse you’ll be fine.

robroy:

Fragonard:

Skills? :laughing: :laughing:
Judging by the knowledge and abilities of many of them, as long as you have a pulse you’ll be fine.

And either good at darts or have a large hat to pull pieces of paper out of like the FA does at FA cup draw time :laughing: :laughing: :laughing:

I took a job as a traffic planner, did it for 2 and a half years then packed in. Stress levels through the roof, earache from customers, nannying drivers, staring at a screen all day wondering how tf you could make it all work,constant paperwork to sort. I’d been driving for 30yrs before that so knew the job inside out but some drivers don’t care about that and think they know better. Went straight back to driving, far easier. We used a system called Mandata,it was pretty simple to use as long as you uploaded the correct load details, the IT crowd had a lot of it pre-loaded with regular jobs

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I had a transport planner who cycled to work everyday because he didnt even have a car licence.
He was doing the routing for like 30+ trucks.

So, I do not think you need any skills.

ps: He was terrible at it though. And yes, he would often send artics to do residential drops that could be done in a van. I quite enjoyed the challenge though. :grimacing:

I did a 2 year stint at it. Never ever again.