transport manager

Hi I’m new on here and is my first ever post so a big hello to all my fellow driving buddies, I’ve been driving for nearly 26 years now and done my managers Cpc both in mid 90s ,I keep thinking about buying my own truck someday but never quite seem to make the move as I have pretty good job and when I finish my shift can go home and switch off.I just wondered if anybody could give me any advice on what to do and find work really,at present I am a part time transport manager for a friend who as a couple of grab lorries so I have bit of experience and he’s a good payer always on time so at least I’m using my Cpc.

I’m just wondering whether to forget the whole idea or will it eat me up first, I’m definitely not work shy and always try my best .I’m a clean license holder but have been to a public inquiry only once, I’ve been part time transport manager for 5 years now

good luck with your enterprise. Bear in mind that your 8 hours per week allocated to your TM job will have to be added to your driving-work hours. The working time directive total limit is 48 hours pw.

Why bother? You are only making a job for yourself but you’ll take on a huge liability in the vehicle which needs fuel, Road Tax and Insurance before you even turn a wheel, you’ll need your Operators Licence, liability insurance etc
Then you’ll have to find work and here’s the important bit, you HAVE TO get paid!
At present you finish your shifts and go home without a second thought free from worry about work, in my experience that is worth at least £10-15 thousand a year.
Then you’ll have to deal with HMRC who really don’t like small businesses, HMRC would rather you go and work on PAYE for Stobarts or DHL and save them the bothersome task of chasing all the independent operators, trust me you’ll get no favours from those people.