Transport manager cpc

Hi, I’m new to the forum and have a couple of questions about the transport managers cpc.

I currently work as a hgv fitter and have done for the last 8 years since leaving school.
Along the way I have gained my class 1 and PSV licenses.

I have always wanted to work for myself eventually and although I don’t have any plans to immediately go into business. I would like to take a few steps to make it quicker and easier should an opportunity to run my own truck come up over the next few years.

What I am planning on doing over the next few months is to take my transport managers cpc, that way I won’t have to stress about getting through it at short notice.

When I get my transport managers cpc will I loose it if I don’t use it for a few years?

If I don’t go it alone I figered it would be good to have and might open up other doors for me in the future.

Thanks In advance
James

Good on you, forward planning is good.

I would look out for a bargain for the cpc you may need to wait til after xmas for a bargain though. The more study you do before hand the easier the course will be and the more understanding you’ll get.

I think it will open doors for you but also you could maybe offer your services for a local start up both as TM (£300 a month) plus mechanic.

Thanks for that muckspreader I will have a look round to see if I can find a deal on it.
I’m going to get some books to read, have heard mentioned that one called lowes is supposed to be good.

I have been a self employed TM for over 25 years, and I buy a copy a copy of David Lowe’s Transport Managers Handbook every year.
I did both the National and International exams through home study packs, and the took the exams at a local examination centre.
The modules are different now, compared to when I took mine, with case study etc, bot it could still be done on a good home study pack. Go for it James, best of luck.
Cheers Dave.

James–: