Training

Hi all my name is Gary,
I’m new to trucknet, i am trying to get information on or if there is any way i can help or funding to do my HGV training? I’m wanting to do my class 2 and class 1 licence together, but i really just can’t afford the training.

I’m on a low wage and I’m the only one working in my house hold. I’ve been trying for the past 4 months to get any information about funding, but getting absolutely no where, I’ve even written to the RHA to see if they can help.
So i joined trucknet yesterday in the hope that any of good guy’s and girls could offer any advice, it would be really appreciated.
Sorry for the long winded post. Cheers Gaz

Hi, and welcome to the forum.

You’ll find that the brokers all offer finance - but calculate the costs before you sign up.

I would strongly suggest using a reputable trainer and paying with either an interest free or low interest credit card.

You’ll find some special deals on our Open Day (15th Feb). Even if you cant make it, the deals will be available for phone bookings until 5pm Monday 17th Feb.

Pete :laughing: :laughing:

Thanks for replying Pete, i will certainly look into that the only problem i have there is i don’t have a credit card and my credit history is poor due my low paid job. I was looking into something called the advanced learner loan, which would pay for my HGV training, but all of the trainers I’ve contacted do not have the facility to accept the payment. Again thank you for your reply.

You have pretty much summarised why many find it hard to enter the transport industry and why a huge majority of tests are taken by people over 30, obviously with many missing out on prime driving years in low paid jobs.

Companies are reluctant to help because people may not be committed or may leave soon after passing.

I have heard of the Jobcentre helping in certain circumstances, but this may involve having been unemployed for a while or having a conditional job offer.