Training.....How long?

Okay, something that has baffled me quite a lot today. As you all are aware of I work at clipper in selby on an ‘apprenticeship’ working in the warehouse, is it just me in thinking this scenario is a bit stupid? :confused:

Yesterday, I was put onto a job that I have never done before more or less getting stock from certain locations in big quantities like say to pick 74 pairs of jeans from such and such locations making sure there are still items left in the boxes/totes on the shelves etc. And well I did ■■■■ up several times and only JUST got my head around it. Today I was asked by the ‘team leader’ or whatever you should call them, and was told that I would be training up the new lad on agency because it would still be ‘fresh’ in my mind. Now I did ‘train’ the lad up with how I was told to do things, and he got on well with the work but is it just me that thinks it should have been the team leader or someone with more experience teaching someone not someone whose only just got onto the job. :confused:

It’s just been bugging me, good thing to put down on my CV obviously to say things I’ve done but to me it just doesn’t seem the right thing to do putting a new person in charge of ‘training’ someone whose just started. Maybe it’s just me who knows :confused:

Cheers

Jonny :sunglasses:

I’d take it as a compliment that my employer’s showing trust and confidence in my ability. It should also you to build confidence in yourself, but don’t let it go to your head. :wink:

There’s also the inescapable fact that your team leader is right. Not only is the job fresh in your mind, but you haven’t had enough experience to work out the dodges and shortcuts, so you’ll teach the next bod to do the job how the company wants it done.

One thing my old man always taught me was that the difference between “near enough” and “just right” is a few minutes if the end result’s correct and a few hours if it isn’t. Bloody good advice.