Trailer with a moffett

Several times this week i have been asked if a moffett licence is required by the driver of a unit with a trailer and moffett attached even though the driver himself will not be using the moffett…any ideas ?

I should say that you will be fine to pull the trailer with the moffet attached. Obviously you’ll need a licence to drive the thing. When I used to be a part time wrecker driver, one of our trucks had a hiab on it, only one bloke on the firm had a hiab ticket, but the irony is, he couldn’t drive the wagon cos of his diabetes.
Hope this clears the matter up for you.

when i took my forktruck test back in the late 90’s our instructor said that as long as a surtain amount of drivers held a ticket others could drive them with out as long as they had permission for insurance purposes, its probably changed now though.

Can’t see it myself, I’m not ticketed for any type of plant yet I load and transport just about al ltypes of it. I carried a plane once but I couldn’t fly that either!

froggat:
Several times this week i have been asked if a moffett licence is required by the driver of a unit with a trailer and moffett attached even though the driver himself will not be using the moffett…any ideas ?

you need to pass a moffett test as c/balance fork lift is no good got nick had to take a test

8wheels:
Can’t see it myself, I’m not ticketed for any type of plant yet I load and transport just about al ltypes of it. I carried a plane once but I couldn’t fly that either!

I move counter balance trucks from time to time and its legal for me to run with them so I cant see why you’d need a moffet ticket to drag a trailer fitted with one as long as you dont use it.

you only need a licence for it,if your going to drive the moffat,as was said earlier,you’ll need a counter balance flt licence.