Trailer registration plates

Has anybody heard any rumours that all new trailers are going to be issued with their own registration plate :open_mouth:

Don

Haven’t heard that but is about time it happened.

I found this on a travel forum. The poster is a regular and does not usually post urban myths.

“As you probably know, I work for the largest semi trailer manufacturer in the country and I have been told that we (the company) are to be an issuing authority!
I understand that it comes into force later this year. (for new trailers)
I will have to find out more.”

Don

It just amazes me that the UK still doesnt register trailers or worse still caravans. They should pay road tax like the Europeans, it gives an extra security device and could to help trace poor drivers

Yes, I’ve been hearing this rumour since 1986.

Wheel Nut:
…It just amazes me that the UK still doesnt register trailers or worse still caravans. They should pay road tax like the Europeans…

Yes but not all the europeans pay tax, register or even insure their caravans seperately. :wink: :laughing:

Spardo:

Wheel Nut:
…It just amazes me that the UK still doesnt register trailers or worse still caravans. They should pay road tax like the Europeans…

Yes but not all the europeans pay tax, register or even insure their caravans seperately. :wink: :laughing:

That depends whether that little car tagging along 3 feet from my back bumper is still registered in the UK :smiley:

Wheel Nut:

Spardo:

Wheel Nut:

That depends whether that little car tagging along 3 feet from my back bumper is still registered in the UK :smiley:

Not at all, French reg for many years now and the same plate on the caravan. The reason is that it (the caravan) does not exceed 500kg gross. :laughing:

As an add on to this thread and several others related to trailer plates. I heard of 2 interesting cases this week.