Trailer coupling question

Hi I have been driving artics for a few months now, today I picked up unit and off I got to pick up trailer, this question my stupid of my side because I have been driving artics before but you learn something new every day, anyway as you I was picking up fridge so had to make sure that the break was on reverse a bit in connected suzies and start backing in I can feel that the pin is in but no clunking noise from coupling :frowning: so drive a bit forward and try again still nothing, so apply the handbreak and got out I knew that I didn’t mist the pin everything looks normal, after few sec I decided to push the lever in and it got in place, so whent back to truck 2 pulls and everything looks fine, next got out and whent to look for the safety clip or what ever you guys name this and is not there ■■? the system it was the one that you have bit of wire that you pull and then you can pull the handle to split I hope you know what I mean also there is hole there where you put the clip in and the only way you can pull the bit of wire if you remove the clip, the question is should the clip be there■■? or not simply due to only you can drop the trailer if you pull the wire and then the handle and do the tractor unit should connect to trailer with out pushing the handle in, only asking this as I never had this problem before and want some advice, hope some one could be kind to share he’s/her view :wink: