Trailer ABS light

Hi everyone, Im new here and I’m a domestic driver. Having just bought an old trailer with ABS I have encountered some of this :unamused: so I joined, to share my findings here, hope I’m doing the right thing?

VOSA and the Lamp if you’re stopped…

This is a link to what VOSA are expecting the ABS Lamps to do, I don’t think this has changed much since then.

transportoffice.gov.uk/crt/r … 063837.pdf

VOSA’s memo updating Vehicle inspectors on what action to take as a result. The chaps phone number email etc. is in there, so you could call him and get the latest on this. :laughing:

fta.co.uk/_galleries/downloa … bition.pdf

:bulb: I’m going to print these out, keep them in the cab, to “discuss” with the roadside inspectors when we meet.

Why the Lamp plays up.

From what I can tell there are 4 official generations of ABS and a further change in tractor units and the problem arises in an incompatibly in mating one generation tractor with different generation trailer. As the Vosa doc show, this doesn’t necessarily mean that the ABS isn’t functioning it perhaps shows the indication system is malfunctioning due to incompatability.

This was what my problem turned out to be…

Haldex said “Not all modern tractor units put out a voltage on Pin 6 of the 24S. If the ABS unit finds Pin 2 to work but Pin 6 not working it may set the cab light to fault.” Making it appear you trailer doesn’t have ABS, or its malfunctioning

IF you have the ISO 7638 to connect, disconnecting the 24S for a moment and seeing if the problem persists will identify the above. If so , disconnecting 2 and 6 in one end of special 24S suzie only to be used in this situation, will solve the problem. Obviously if your truck or trailer doesn’t have the ISO 7638 you cant do this or there wont be a signal at all.

You’ll see from the diagram below the signals in 24S pin 2 and 6 are duplicated in the ISO7638. Which is why Tractor manufacturers aren’t bothering now to populate the 24S pin.