Traffic Signal Cameras

Has anybody ever been caught by traffic signal cameras?

I think I may have been caught out by one the other day on the East Lancs :confused:

It was a 50mph zone, I slowed down to about 35mph (driving a road barrel) when I noticed they had been on green for a while, and as in my training, I slowed down, waited until I was at the point of “no return” and put my foot down, and then they changed, it would have been more dangerous to slam on than it would run the light. I noticed there was a camera, but I didn’t see it flash.

Just to add, I’ve never had any points on my licence, I’m a responsible driver, but, we all make mistakes, even though I feel I was in the right running the red light as opposed to slamming on.

Anyway, I was wondering, do you get offered those speed awareness courses for running red lights, or are they strictly reserved for speeding offences only? With making a career out of driving, avoiding 3 points would be beneficial.

Also, hope everybody had a great Christmas!

Hi Endgame…

I had a TS endorsement about 4 years ago. I was doing way below the speed limit as you were, but was deemed to have ‘jumped the lights’. I wasn’t offered any kind of awareness course or anything, a straight 3 points and £60 fine or take it to court. I accepted the fine although there was no way I could stop safely at the lights. So, to answer your question, as far as I am aware, unless you jumped the lights at an excessive speed, you wont get that offer, but I can only speak in my own experience.

Alright Chilly mate.

4 years ago you say? Hmmm, maybe they didn’t have the speed awareness courses available then?