Traffic Commissioner

Evening all, I’ve just received a FPN 3 points + £100 fine for a speeding offence. I’m a Ad-Hoc driver, do I now need to report this to Traffic Commissioner? It’s my first offence in 24 years of driving.

I didn’t, just over 5 years ago got caught speeding in the lorry, paid the fine, had the points and never mentioned it to anyone other than car insurance, points are gone now and never heard any more about it.

I could be wrong but I thought it was only brought to the traffic commissioners attention if you’ve been done twice for speeding if it’s a fixed penalty,I believe that includes car though too,I read something a while ago a guy got done twice doing over 50 in a 40 zone and got license suspended for a couple of week after explaining himself,both times it was in truck too,your company would know better.

If you’re the o,licence holder, you must notify it, if you livence holder is required to notify.

S12SKW:
Evening all, I’ve just received a FPN 3 points + £100 fine for a speeding offence. I’m a Ad-Hoc driver, do I now need to report this to Traffic Commissioner? It’s my first offence in 24 years of driving.

That’s lucky. Good result for 54. [emoji106]

There’s no reason to report yourself, but if you’re an ad hoc driver with just one company, you need to tell your TM, they need to inform the TC, but a single offence in a quarter of a century will, I’m confident, be taken in the appropriate context.

If by ad hoc you mean you’re agency, they’ll do licence checks about every six months so may as well just let them know, but it’s unlikely to be a big deal, unless they’re got a specific “difficult client”.

EDIT: no offer of a speed awareness course? Was it outside the boundaries of speeding for them to consider it? Or did it happen in Scotland?