Towing over 3.5t

Hi, this is my first post. I am sorry if this has been done to death but I am struggling to find a definitive answer for our type company or the work we may do.

We are an engine company. We sell new and used engines. We also repair engines at our HQ and potentially anywhere in the EU. I am a service engineer, I am not a professional driver as my main job.

We have 2 Transit 350’s with tachos fitted (GVW 3500 kgs). One is empty in the back, one is my van and is racked out with all my tools etc. Basically a service van although classed as a light goods vehicle. I passed my driving test in 04/1996.

I understand that when I tow with this vehicle in the EU, I must drive using the tacho under the EU drivers hours - and I understand there are some exemptions such as if I am towing work equipment for use by myself, if I am within a 50 km radius of HQ and maybe some others.

I am unsure however, on whether we need an operators licence and driver CPC.

The trailer will weigh less than 1025 kgs but may carry up to 2000 kgs. It may not be our own trailer.

So here are some scenarios assuming this is outside of a 50km radius of HQ;

We sell an engine, I tow it to the customer - does this come under hire or reward?

We buy an engine, I go and pick it up to bring back to base - what does this come under?

A customer has an engine problem and he wants to pay for us to remove and repair it for him, then take it back and fit it - what does this come under?

A customer has an engine problem with an engine we have previously sold him, we collect, repair and take it back free of charge to him - what does this come under?

We have an exhibition trailer. I tow it to a show and bring it back again. I am paid a wage to do this. I am not sure of the show trailers weight or if it is plated. - what happens here?

I am pretty ok with if I have to carry tooling in a trailer - I think I only have to drive with a tacho?