Totally new to this

Evening drivers,

I am totally new to this industry. Got my theory tests in December then hoping to get my Class C done in January (lockdown depending).

I will be 25 in December and living in central Scotland. Any advice on companies that take on new drivers? I would quite like to do tipper work.

I am planning on doing my C+E in the spring then trying for a tramping job.

Thanks.

Good news chap,

If it’s tipper work you’re interested in then don’t stress about a getting a licence…of any sort…not even a fishing licence…you’ll fit straight in.

Have you thought about builders merchant work? They often take on new passes and having HIAB experience could open doors to other work (Utilities/muck away etc).
What have you done for work previously?

If you are near the M8 corridor you should get something. There is Pollocks and Scotwaste doing tippers.

If you have a heavy right foot try youll & dodds :grimacing:

stargazer148:

Yuill & Dodds will definitly take him as a new start but he would need to forget some of the things he was taught in training.
Things like stopping at red lights, slowing down for pedestrians, slowing down in general, using indicators and such like

Thanks everyone for the advice!!

love the humour

The-Snowman:

stargazer148:

Yuill & Dodds will definitly take him as a new start but he would need to forget some of the things he was taught in training.
Things like stopping at red lights, slowing down for pedestrians, slowing down in general, using indicators and such like

You forgot speaking English :grimacing: cheers Ray

I don’t suppose anyone could shed any light on the sort of money I would get tramping class 1?

Youll get a range of responses to that question. Always followed by someone saying: "I wouldnt get out of bed for that".

scottishdriver1:
love the humour