to moan or not to moan

hi all

i’m an agency driver.i was wondering how most of you handle vehicle defects?ive had quite a few instances wear i’ve had mabye a tyre that’s had some cuts in it.a tachograph that’s saying its got a fault,even though your told theres nothing wrong with it.nobody ever has any spare bulbs in case you havent got a light, or an indicators out.i haven’t been driving long,and i’m getting to the point where i’m dreading doing my walk round checks cos i don’t know what i’m going to uncover.i was wondering how the rest of you handle these situations.i do bring these problems up,but all you get is’yeah,we’ll have to have a look at that’,or ‘we haven’t got the parts or person to do anything now’.all that’s left is for me to refuse to drive the vehicle.i cant keep doing that on every job.half the trucks i wouldn’t end up taking out.i’m sure my agent would love that.then i’m wondering why i’m not getting called back to certain jobs anymore.probably cos they want lads who aren’t gonna cause a problem.i’ve seen in defect books drivers sometimes list quite a few things thats wrong with a vehicle(i haven’t looked exactly what).is this more how it usually works?things are listed then put right as soon as poss(next day,end of week)?or should things be put right on the spot?when your an agency driver and your called in cos someones off sick, you get there and its action stations!the trucks loaded and they want you gone!the gaffers there.all the yard lads are there.your stumbling around trying to do a few checks.making sure you have all your wheels and nothings on fire.at which point you announce your not taking the vehicle out cos there’s slight tyre defect and the indicators playing up.you’ll take it out when the tyres been changed and its had new indicator bulbs.you’ve completly f****d there day.lets see where a couple of them get you.that company isn’t going to want to use you again,and i don’t think you’ll be hearing much from your agent.