Tips & Tricks

Apologies if there exists such a thread but I thought a thread for tips & tricks for slightly more than newbies could come in handy!

I’m still fairly new to HGVing and I’m sure there are a lot of little things that I’m not doing only 'cause I don’t know about them.

I’m talking about anything from (legit) tricks with the tacho to manouvering to the best way to win the ‘traffic light grand prix’!

Steve

If you are running up through France, and your mate is running down through France, meet up at a service area halfway and swap peage tickets, then both leave the Autoroute at the penultimate peage, saves a fortune! :wink:

When doing bulk tipper work be sure to leave the passenger door unlocked, they always fall over on the drivers side leaving you with a handy emergency exit.*

*Except on E.R.F’s the windscreen always falls out

always carry:
jump leads,
socket set,
bag of pigs blood,
bolt cutters,
spare air dryer filter,
4’ scafold tube,
screwdrivers,
muslim deterent,
wheel brace,
crossbow,
photo copy of driving licence,
photo copy of passport,
anti muslim cream,
toilet roll,
and a copy of the koran.

Good idea for a thread. I was minded to start similar sometime ago but never got round to it.

On curtain sided trailers, to make it much easier to lift the front pole out & replace it, drop the unit suspension.

Along the same theme, if having to load from the back by pallet truck, (or cages) again drop unit suspension (and lift trailer if necessary) until the trailer is sloping down hill to the front. Makes the job so much easier.

Be careful about reversing this for tipping though. Pallets trucks don’t have brakes & untethered cages will follow you down the trailer when your back is turned.

Never take an “empty” trailer, without checking that it is really empty.

The one time that you try to be helpful and show someone else how to do something will be the time it goes horribly wrong and you will get the blame :laughing: