Tipping into a tarmac spreader

Hi guys

could someone please explain to me the procedure for tipping a load of tar into a spreader?

i’ve never done this before & i start a new job tomorrow. dont want to look like an idiot.

also, how much sand should i spread in the back to stop it sticking??

many thanks in advance.

I’ve moved your topic here, because it’s more likely that you’ll get answers to your question in this forum. dd. :wink:

a light dustin will be enuf.when on the paver its all about little and often,genrally someone at the back will shout when to tip a little more.if you tip too much you"ll block the hopper then someone will have to dig it out.dont roll away from the paver[esp when pavin down hill]as you will dump it in the road in front of the paver and someone will have to shovel the lot back into the hopper.it aint rocket science you"ll soon pick it up

Keep one eye on your O/S mirror don,t let the truck become separated from the machine or you will learn some new swear words. :smiley: :smiley: :smiley: :smiley:

Keep it out of gear and your foot on the brake “slightly” after tipped in the spreader.
Keep steering straight ahead and just let the spreader itself push you along as its own pace.
Watch in the RH mirror for the spreader drivers hand coming out to tell you to tip it up more.
Tell the spreader team your new at the job and somebody will keep you right for the first few loads. :wink:

dont hit it is good :laughing: also careful with the sand bit ,if on wearing course as it may get rejected if it has too much in it
yeomans at theale use water in the body