Thoughts on Service Stations

Hello all,

I’m an Architecture Student currently looking at Motorway Service Stations and the life of the Trucker, been told this is a good place to get started.

So a couple of questions:

What doesn’t work with current Service stations?

What do Truckers need/want to have at Service Stations?

I’m currently concentrating on Membury Services along the M4, if anyone has anything particular about that area.

Any thoughts, suggestions or photos would be great.

Just to finish I would like to say Truck drivers are a bloody important cog in the UK economy and I think they should be better provided for on the roads.

Thanks
Matt

Matt Hopkins:
Hello all,

I’m an Architecture Student currently looking at Motorway Service Stations and the life of the Trucker, been told this is a good place to get started.

I’m currently concentrating on Membury Services along the M4, if anyone has anything particular about that area.

Just to finish I would like to say Truck drivers are a bloody important cog in the UK economy and I think they should be better provided for on the roads.

Thanks
Matt

The fact an Architecture Student is studying them says whats wrong with them really.
They’re just a business model , ran by someone who wants to lease out the retail units at max £. To do this they follow retail studies etc, make sure everyone has to pass every retail unit until they hit the bogs so they guarantee the footfall for the potential leasee and thats generally it.

I can’t see it being any help to you to know we only require loads of parking, toilet facilities near the parking without having to walk through a shopping mall, and infact a shopping mall isn’t really a neccesity for us!!!

Most need better showers, most need better customer service as we seem to be looked down on as an inconvenience.
Examples of good ones
Cobham
Beaconsfield(even got a wetherspoons) big food court good hot showers although small.
Woodhall, good variety of food.