Thinking of becoming a HGV 1 driver

Hi all, thinking of a career change to HGV 1 but I have no experience only car licence for 30 years and I am 50 years old and was wandering if any these two things would prevent me from getting a job. Thanks

Nothing stopping you pal, you just need to look back through all the past threads where this question has been asked! :wink:

Best of luck! :smiley:

You may need an HGV licence unless you just want to do van or 7.5t work & of course all that goes with it medical cpc theory hpt lessons etc

As long as your licence is reasonanly clean (defo less than 6 points helps) and ideally no accidents in last 3 years really does help.

Then just need around £3000 to get through the theory, medical, CPC, lessons and tests for class 2 then class 1. Just remember you cant jump straight to class 1 anymore.

Some people do prefer age and long driving history for employing, although insurance doesnt seem so convinced…you can get jobs however, just takes some searching. I did it at 41 on class 2 and pretty sure there are several here starting out older than me.

Also remember this is not a brilliant paid job for newbies - £8.50 / hour for class 2 is not unusual although better paying jobs exist. Class 1 usually pays a little more but is harder.

Finally as class 2 is where most start partly due to insurance, it is generally a lot of handballing. Less so with class 1.

trevHCS:
Class 1 usually pays a little more but is harder.

Generally harder technically, not physically. Class 2 work tends to involve more manual labour, multidrop, lugging stuff around. Class 1 work can be found with much less load interaction - pull up onto a bay and let someone else worry about getting the load on/off. It isn’t all that way, of course, supermarket work will involve a lot of cages and there are certainly Class 1 jobs that are very physical. However, as you get on in life you will probably find Class 1 better suited to you.