Things you don't learn on your training

Hi all so I have passed my mod 4 and got all my cards.
Yesterday was my first day out was a bit in the deepend but
I am a trucker now so had to just get it done i suppose.
I work for a firm that deliver interior building products
I have a moffett on the back and that’s a new thing for me to learn aswell.
But what I did Learn quick was no one teaches you how a truck should be
Loaded apart from (up agains head board) but how should it be spread acros
all axles? When you do a drop should the load be moved around to spread the weight evenly as it has changed? Should the load be strapped? So much to learn in little time

Try to spread the load between the axles. The Moffet weighs a ton so will take some weight off the front axle so overloading the front shouldn’t be too much of a problem. If you multiple dropping, obviously load last drop on the front & the 1st drop on the back. You shouldn’t need to move the load around unless the steering feels heavy (or too light, if you put a ton pallet on the arse next to the Moffet, Durrrr !)
You need to strap every load, don’t cut corners, Gravity is not a recognised Vosa load restraining method.

Make sure that you chain the Moffet properly & fill it with diesel every day check the oil,tyres & don’t leave the ignition on, like I did once (numpty)

Thanks for the advise things I kind of already was aware of but it makes a lot more sence when it written down or explained. Had to tell we’re the line is when all the drivers that I work with dont strap loads down or seem to do propper daily checks even tho they know its wrong. Will make sure I do a proper job

so your a trucker now eh , na sorry to disappoint you at the moment your the holder of a licence that allows you to drive large goods vehicle and that’s it, give it a few years and you start earning stripes.
Welcome to what use to be a brotherhood that its slowly dying to a F&*k everyone else attitude.