"The good old days!"

So I’m relatively new to this industry. Been on the road a decade this year. Anyway, every now and then I speak to another driver who has been around a hell of a long time and inevitably the conversation always turns to how the job was years ago.

So grey haired stalwarts of trucknet, how much better was it in the “old day” of trucking? Did you really earn as much if not more 20 years ago than you do now? Was the job and the working conditions as good as i’m being told? Or is it all rose tinted spectacles?

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

I’m same as you about 10 years driving.
Wish I was about in the so.called good old days.
As be no trackers no mobile phones.
Just told what to do and left alone to do it.
And have to think for yourself

The good old days are now. In the old days the motors were cold primitive unreliable heaps of dung, a bit like their drivers. Things are so much better now. The old ■■■■■ just want their younger bodies back. Nostalgia isnt what it was nowadays.

I’ve been in trucking for 31 years and I not sure when the good old days was…60’s 70’s very under powered trucks and if you tramping you be sleeping in dirty café and sharing a room hoping you don’t catch anything or across your seats in a day cab.

80’s 90’s was when tachograph rules went out of control. you think you do long hours now, them days most firms ran bent, big or small firms were at it. Even the likes of Stobarts got done. 10hrs driving oh better pull the fuse then crack on, ive got a load to deliver. Nightly Rest? 4hrs that do, 9hrs are for wimps who want to sleep in a layby for 9hrs? The Trucks were getting better apart from the night heaters (if they work) did feel like they going to kill you, it was best to leave a window slightly open. Companies in my area tend to pay 20% of what the truck earns which on paper sounds good but it all went wrong if you had no back load.