The further debate about longer trailers

I am interested in the longer trailer debate that is due to be announced in February.

Are you a driver? are you expecting to be paid more?

Are you a contractor? will you be able to charge more?

Are you a trailer builder or repairer? are you hoping for a boost to your business?

Please answer the poll, and put anything relevant in the thread :laughing:

Carryfart, if you mention 65 tonne double drives with leaky green engines I shall forever disown you :stuck_out_tongue:

the engines were yellow… :laughing: :laughing: :laughing:

roadtransport.com/blogs/big- … -pull.html

Check it out,Dude!! :laughing:

bobthedog:
the engines were yellow… :laughing: :laughing: :laughing:

Sorry Bob. I always trust you, but in this case, it was pre 71 and I went Googling and found this, look at the comment about the oil, ■■■■■■■ myself :stuck_out_tongue:

So the trailers?

Longer or not?

Im an employed driver, my company is choking for more space on trailers they have been pressurising the government for the last few years. But then you look at the back boxes of drawbars laying idle and you wonder :unamused:

Its all good saying the meet turning requirements but trying to reverse of the street into a tight gate is another matter :angry:

I doubt i’ll get paid more as we are going to start deckers in the next few weeks and im not getting paid more for that extra hassle.

Our firm is not known for being in the vangaurd of technology. Apart from the two DD’s which go to the hub every night, all the other trailers are doing multi drop work and many of the premesis are pretty tight for a standard trailer.

In the pallet system world I can see that depots far away from the hub would have most to gain from longer DD’s, although weight would always be a problem.

three of ours are still on springs so i don’t the boss will be spashing out if it gets the o.k. :laughing:

Longer trailers= less movements = lower wages.