The coming age of transport

Alot of drivers saying how ‘back in day’ etc they had young drivers being took on by companies and given a chance to learn, sometimes by even the hard way…

With companies under so much pressure from customers and expecting the best and no problems is it really achievable ?

As a young driver myself, i think government should get some sort of bonus / benefit for companies taking on young folks, otherwise really we’re gona get no where in the future unless agencies/companies start opening the doors a bit more.

In addition to that, the wages paid are generally lower for youngsters, could companies not pay less, to cover costs of higher insurance etc and gradually make it rise ?

Palletline birmingham took a friend of mine on couple years back and worked him up, though he was getting paid less he appreciated it more and showed some loyalty to the company… as a token of appreciation.

Whats your thoughts on this :unamused:

I think axing the compulsory retirement age instead of raising it is to blame; There are less openings now. I got my driving break because a driver was nearing 65 and I was given an old motor to get experience. He went and I “replaced” him.
Out of 4 drivers to hit retirement age in the past year, only one has actually retired. Another will go at 70, who knows about the other two (one has been plagued with health problems recently).
My return to the road seems to be dependant on said driver not coming back…

Forgot we actually have 5 who’ve got to 65. The one I forgot about, has done so much damage the comoany wishes there was still a compulsory retirement age!
Upto now, drivers around 65 do not get given new motors. Is this age discrimination or is just “drive what you’re given”?

As Muckaway says, I’ve worked with drivers in their 70’s and even 1 in his 90’s, mostly drivers in their 50’s.

But, they either can’t afford to retire or have worked that long that they wouldn’t know what to do with themselves if they did.