The best British Built 8 wheeler tipper?

Before I headed into long distance artic work I was a tipper driver mainly on 8 leggers, drove a few various British built ones ranging from Leyland Constructors to ERF E10’s to Foden 3325 and 3380’s. They were all good in their various ways eg the Constructor had amazing off road ability as well as a fair old top speed, the ERF a nice roomy cab,the Fodens could fly and carried some payload ( leaked like a sieve when it rained though!!) but my favourite all round tipper was the Irvine assembled Volvo FL10 320. It was excellent to drive, had a decent turn of speed, good fuel economy, good payload and was extremely reliable. When I was in holiday in Cuba I saw plenty of Chinese built FL10’s working away and the cab makeover looked very good on them. I also from time to time see these excellent Volvo’s working away long after the production of them ended. I wasn’t so keen on the FL7 as it was seriously underpowered compared to the FL10 so over to guys for some memories of your favourite British built 8 wheelers!!!..

8x4  HOWO Dumper - Tipper.jpg

These were as good as anything in their day. I suppose like everything else,its down to choice and what experiences owners and drivers had with vehicles.
Cheers Dave.

Dave the Renegade:

These were as good as anything in their day. I suppose like everything else,its down to choice and what experiences owners and drivers had with vehicles.
Cheers Dave.

Good looking motor Dave, never had the privilege of driving an 8 wheeler one though my mate has a 6 legger he does the vintage scene with, wish I had a £1 for every ton it has shifted!!!