Tearing out the mudflap

Ok so I am a lorry driver and have been for a few years. I was just wondering how many other drivers out there happen to rip off the mud guard on their vehicle when reversing or doing any other type of manoeuvre, and how they stop this from happening. Any info would be greatly appreciated as it’s costing me a fortune to replace :exclamation: Thanks :smiley:

And old trick is to cut the carpets to size, replace at MOT with correct size then after switch them back. It’s the carpet that catches and that in turn pulls off mudguard.

Rarely comes up for me as an issue but when it does I adjust suspension accordingly and stay away from reversing against kerbs or stoppers or onto muck/grass.

The most common I’ve seen is terbergs raising the trailer up and reversing down a slope the carpet goes underneath wheel rips the whole lot off.

carefully saw off the bottom 4 inches and drill a few holes along the cut edges and reattach with zip ties . perfectly legal and you only lose 4 inches of mudflap , keep any damaged flaps for replacements.

rigsby:
carefully saw off the bottom 4 inches and drill a few holes along the cut edges and reattach with zip ties . perfectly legal and you only lose 4 inches of mudflap , keep any damaged flaps for replacements.

old trick I was taught by the fitter but he’d go as far up as possible, always carried spare ties to re fit after

when I used to go off road daily onto building sites I secured a length of lightweight chain approx. six inch shorter than the spray flap to the centre bolt of the spray flap securing bolts(with a bit of firm stainless wire formed into a hook on the end) , approx. 1 inch from the bottom centre of the spray flap I secured another bolt with a eyelet facing rearwards. Prior to going off road I spent approx. 1 min curving all my flaps rearwards and upwards and hooking on the chain. reverse procedure after exit from site. Never lost another flap.
hth