Tankers

Hi, would like to know what working on tankers is like as a job. Bulk powders, milk any kind of Tanker work. I Appreciate your input.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I’ve done various tanker work and have to say I quite liked it, especially milk tanker work I did when I was an agency driver. I used to trunk the milk to various depots and the work was nice and easy, just arrive and go on the weighbridge then get a milk sample then onto a loading bay and sit there for a couple of hours while the milk is tipped and the tank internally cleaned. At one depot they even connected the pipes for me!

Tucker9037:
Hi, would like to know what working on tankers is like as a job. Bulk powders, milk any kind of Tanker work. I Appreciate your input.

Liquids and powders are two very different beasts and as such two very different jobs. Powders can be likened to tippers or containers. Its a dead weight with a much higher than usual centre of gravity so care is needed with adverse cambers/roundabouts etc.

Liquids are a law unto themselves. Watch any laden tanker pull up to a red light and long after the handbrake has been applied you will see the cab rock gently forwards, then backwards. Forwards then backwards. It can be enough to make a driver of a sensitive disposition seasick. :grimacing:

The other thing with liquids is they climb up the inside of the tank. The harder you turn, the higher the liquid climbs until in the end there’s enough liquid up the inside of the tank to push the lot over onto its side.

Not trying to put you off. I like tanker work. But it does deserve a modicum of respect.