Tankers and VOSA plates

Hi all, first time poster and long time lurker. I’m new to te HGv driving industry, after recently leaving the forces I decided to make use of my class 1 licence, I did a bit of agency work to get some experience, and landed right on my feet with a permanent position at a large whiskey transporter in Scotland.

So to the point, last week I had to move a tanker which was missing the VOSA
Plate, but had the green plate, I questioned the mechanic he said it was fine to move as it had the green plate, so I defected it and rocked on, tonight another driver spotted the plate missing on the same tanker, and raised it, he was told not to move it.

So any help clarifying wether the mechanic has just pulled a fast one on me or not would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers guys

Anyone?

If it was a brand new or nearly brand new trailer then it could be feasable that the vosa plate had not been produced yet and so it would be perfectly ok to use. I had exactly this situation with a unit back in 2006, got pulled at a check point and even the vosa man had to check with his supervisor. I think they had about a 6 month backlog at the time. They did also say that it was the operators responsability and not the drivers so I would be checking with your manager whether or not they want you to use it. Other than that sorry I cant realy help.

From memory, which is usually not great! I don’t think it was new I think it was a year or two old. I am now worrying that I have been had on, and it’s been a case of get the load moved at all costs, even the drivers licence if he crosses the law. Hopefully I’m wrong but I can see my defect book getting used a lot more from now on.

The plating certificate has to be there. Its what tells VOSA what the axle weight limits are.

Just notify your transport manager it’s an issue between them and VOSA then crack on.