tanker advice??????????????

hey peps!

im a new pass class1 driver, working for the dairys atm and lovin it!

just after some tips, i want to drive the tankers, we use the milk tankers at work an i want to get on them (better truck, better hours and shiney trailors) :smiley:

just wondering if you guys knew what sort of qualifications you need to drive them(if any)? or what would make me more desirable over any other tom, ā– ā– ā– ā–  or chav for them to give me a opportunityā– ā– ?

it is milk btwā€¦ does that still mean you need the ADR? or is that the course?

im based in the midlands so if anyone knows of any slightlly local training courses thatā€™d be GRAND!!! :smiley:

Bell up your nearest Robert Wisemanā€™s. They use n00bs.

dannyboy_85:
it is milk btwā€¦ does that still mean you need the ADR? or is that the course?

Hi dannyboy_85, STILL need ADR :question:

No mate, milk isnā€™t counted as a dangerous substance, so no ADR licence is required.
(ADR only regulates dangerous substances.)

There isnā€™t a specific driving licence category for tankers, so you just need the appropriate driving licence thatā€™s normally required for the base vehicle eg. Cat ā€œCā€ or Cat "C+E.

Some dairy companies will give you some training designed to familiarise you with the fact that liquid loads will ā€œsurgeā€ inside a tanker, especially when braking or turning. Depending on whether the vehicle is a rigid or an artic, will usually make a difference when doing milk collections.

The rigids usually collect from the farms, and therefore run part-loaded for at least some of the time, whereas artics on milk the milk job usually run either full or empty, but this can vary from job to job. Also, the employer will probably send you out with an ā€œold handā€ to learn the job correctly.

Beware the partly loaded milk tanker. :wink:

dieseldave:
milk isnā€™t counted as a dangerous substance

I think you need to put the ADR books down and take a [zb] break Dave.

Rob K: