Talking of Felixstowe

This looks like your answer to queing at docks. try this link

www.orkneycontainer.com

Trouble is there aint many truckstops up there

Thanks Wheel Nut,interesting to see how other ports work around the world.I think I like it here better complaining about lack of air-conditioning! :sunglasses:

Here’s another view on Container terminals.
I’m an Engineer with Maersk Sealand, when we arrive in any port around the world gangs of stevodores come onboard as soon as the ship gets alongiside.
The ship then has to sail within an hour of completing cargo operations. We can have about 600 moves and then we are gone again within 12 hours. Not very good for the socail life.
From the sea side of things most of the terminals seem to very efficient. But don’t get yourselves down no matter what terminal we go to anywhere in the world there is always a queue of trucks waiting to get in or out so it’s not just a UK thing.

In fact, talking of Felixstowe, a handful of us got so peeved off on Friday waiting on the pads for our boxes that we ended up blocking the entire row.

We were down on the C 600’s row and there were four of us waiting for C 684 pad. There was one RTG somewhere around C 650 which was exclusively servicing the tugs only. An hour went by, so made a phone call to the Trinity office to be told, “sorry, he’s been told to stay on shipping (basically meaning “just do the tugs”) and we don’t have enough man power to get another RTG down to service you”. “Well how long are we gonna be waiting?”. “Sorry mate, dunno. We’ll do you as soon as we can”.

Another hour goes by and then another RTG appears at the other side of the RTG closest to us waiting. Thinking that the one closest to us will come down and service us we get back in our cabs and wait, but alas no, both RTG’s are servicing the tugs :imp: