Tailswing

Evening,

I was just wondering, I’ve been driving for a few months now and I’m doing ok, but the only thing I can’t get my head around is tailswing, I always worry I’ve swiped something with the back end while turning and being close to things such as parked cars, things on the pavement etc. I was hoping you could put my mind at rest and tell me if there is a sure fire way to be sure you are clear of hitting anything without having to guess and hope all the time.

Many thanks.

I was the same when I started on the busses, plenty of time checking mirrors and through time you just know exactly where the back of your vehicle is.

With most busses when you are behind them you notice that when moving round a corner tail swing is very minimal due to forward motion. Our rear steer coaches are a bit different though, bloody tailswing on them is horrendous.

Not sure if it’s the same with the trucks though.

Go into an area in your yard, and if possible, get the forkie to stack you a few pallets.

See how close you can get before you knock them on a swing. Then make a mental reference on where you ’ thought ’ the pallets were in your mirror.

eagerbeaver:
Go into an area in your yard, and if possible, get the forkie to stack you a few pallets.

See how close you can get before you knock them on a swing. Then make a mental reference on where you ’ thought ’ the pallets were in your mirror.

We done this but used traffic cones in different positions. Scary how far out your judgement can be at the very beginning.

Thanks guys but I just never get how to check properly with mirrors because everything in the mirrors disappears as you turn if you get what I mean, it’s so frustrating!

No extra pay in your bank for getting within centimetres of an obstruction/somebodys car etc.

Any doubt, simply take both lanes.

eagerbeaver:
No extra pay in your bank for getting within centimetres of an obstruction/somebodys car etc.

Any doubt, simply take both lanes.