Tachograph offence

Hi,

I’m a new driver and for the last 3 weeks I have been doing various agency jobs doing mainly multidrop. Today I started a full time permanent job (which I was really lucky and happy to get having very little experience). During today’s induction they went through drivers hours which I am pretty clued up on. Then the instructor mentioned something I had never heard of the Working time directive. I honestly never remember any questions throughout initial CPC and theory/practical test that there are two sets of working rules or was aware of this/made aware of this by an agency company (most just gave me the keys and delivery notes and off I went).

I now have full understanding on them but going home tonight I checked my printouts for my agency work and found two infringements. The first I started shift at 7.08am took a 15 minute break at 11.16am and then took a 30 minute break at 13.12 which would take me 4 minutes over the 6 hour rule.

The second I did a full shift between 6.06am and 14.56pm only taking 25 minutes of break (my total driving time was 2 hours 50 and most of the work was at the depot).

Is there any thing I can do about these infringements? should I mention them to someone or keep quiet and hope they get erased off the digicard before VOSA stop me? would they care about 4 minutes late and 5 minutes less on a break?

Not that I want to make excuses but until today I had no idea about this other set of rules and that’s why I just drove keeping in line with the EC drivers hours.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Never been tugged by VOSA myself, but from past things I’ve read on here, they don’t seem to be bothered with WTD issues.

When I was new to this lark, I was pretty much unaware of it too. Wasn’t until I had my card downloaded until my boss put me straight

tris123:
Hi,