Tachograhs default setting to rest when removing Driver Card

Sorry if this has already been covered but I cannot find it when searching the forums.
I have been using Driver cards for ten years and when, at the end of the shift I eject the card I sometimes remember to select break but most times forget. I have never had an infringement for exceeding daily or weekly rest as the card has always recorded the ejection as rest. I have not on the next duty had to manual entry rest for the previous 11,9, or weekly rest- it has been recorded accordingly. Today, Wednesday, I started work at 07;00. at the end of the shift I was told I had not taken weekly rest! I finished work on Friday, ejected the driver card and next worked on Tuesday- Sat Sun Mon off. The T.M. told me that I had been on Other work since Friday, 17;15 (when I ejected the card). Apart from driving Tuesday. No periods of Rest were recorded for Sat Sun Mon. I now have a serious infringement and cannot work for 72 hours to catch up the Rest.
Friday I used an Iveco for the first time. Is it, as I suspect, a new Tachograph that has to be put on break everytime and does not record the ejection as rest. I need an explanation as if Mr VOSA examines the card he too will ask the question. Is it a particular make or specified setting that has been put into the VU? Any help would be appreciated. I know ultimately it is my responsibility but I have never had this.

Do 2 printouts for Friday and write weekly rest started at 17:15 and 2 for Tuesday and write weekly rest ended at whenever.
Copy of each to TM and copies for yourself and your fine to drive.
Can’t see why you’ve got to have 72 hours rest as you’ve got the infringement and damage is done so to speak so more rest won’t make a difference.
I’ve always got into the habit of switching it onto rest before removing or inserting card.

I bet you put your card in and moved before it had time to process which makes the unit think you’ve been at work all this time.