Tacho not recognising card taken out

Yesterday, I’d had a 15 min break and was on my way to a workshop to get something done on the truck. I got there with a drive time showing of 4hr 29min. I took my card out so I could register my break while the fitter did what he needed to do, I’m pretty certain I switched the tacho to break before ejecting. He drove the truck around a little then did his work, but I stuck my head into the cab when the truck was parked and made sure the tacho was reading a break.

About 35mins later he’d finished and I got back in and put my card back in, expecting to see it register I’d had my full 45mins. I confess I’m new to manual entries so I may sound like an utter numpty here: Having done a manual entry first thing that morning I’m assuming the tacho was still in “manual mode” and maybe I messed something up putting the card back in, but the tacho didn’t record this time as a break and my printout clearly shows an infringement.

So my questions are:

1. I believe I pressed “other work” after reinserting the card so that was why it didn’t register the break,and that I did this because I thought the tacho needed to know what I was doing now, ie other work, but on reflection I’m guessing the tacho wanted to know what I’d been doing ?
  2. I presume the double lines indicate “card removed”, is that right?
  3. Obviously if I get stopped I’ve got some explaining to do (hence the annotated printout), but how long do infringements stay “in date” ? Just for the 28 day period or further beyond that?

I just had similar experience.
Had tacho recalibrated on Tuesday dropped it off . Used different truck Wednesday got.it back Thursday.
Was driving my truck Thursday after 12.5 hours got a message saying rest required soon .then said rest required immediately.
I had done 1 15 hour shift all week did a second on Thursday yet truck thinks I’ve done 3 for some reason.