Tacho help please

I am taking my C test next week and today I have signed on at an agency so they can get to know me.

Although I have no tacho experience they have asked me to work tomorrow for TNT multi-dropping in Norfolk in a 7.5 tonner.

The work is no problem because I did it for Amtrak for 10 years but I dont even know how to put the chart in!

What happens when you stop for a drop? Do you record it as other work? I can see it taking ages to fiddle around with the tacho settings.

Any advice please?

If you are doing mult-drops just leave it in the work mode, remember to take your breaks… :wink:

At the beginning of the shift put the tacho on other work (cross hammers) and when you start driving it will automatically record in driving mode, when you stop to make a delivery it will revert to other work, remember to change the tacho to rest (bed shape) when you have your break, remember that after 4.5 hours driving you must have a 45 minute break, alternatively the break can be split, if you split the break into two shorter breaks the first must be at least 15 minutes and the second must be at least 30 minutes.

There are different types of tacho so it’s difficult to too presice about putting the chart in, if it’s the drawer type put the chart in facing up ( graph side up), if it’s the type that opens out then look inside for the needles and put the card in with the graph side facing the needles.

I suggest you do a search of this forum for more info on tacho use, it’s been covered quite a lot.

Also after 6 hours shift time (even if you are not at 4.5 hours driving) you need at least a 30 mins break (better to have 45 so it also resets the driving time).

Generally with tachos put the chart with the writing face (i.e. where you put your name etc) so that you can see it when it is in the tacho machine before you close it. Also dont put it under any plastic strips as these are for a second driver.