Tacho & Head scratching

These are easy questions that I should know but I don’t.
I’m starting a new job that’s very different to my previous work. There will be a lorry in the yard that I’ll be driving, but at least to start with, I could be doing mostly other work.

Could someone be so kind as to tell me the best way to handle the tacho situation in this case:

I arrive at 9am. Put card in, do vehicle checks, do one delivery, back for 10am, the truck is then parked up and I spend all day on other work, I do a quick delivery at 4pm and then I go home.

Would I leave the card in on Other Work and keep walking back to it when I have a break to switch it to break? Or take it out at 10am and do manual entries on my return at 4pm (which I’ve never done before) - I thought you couldn’t record a break as a manual entry though, so won’t I get a black mark under working time if no break is recorded?

Sidenote: it’s unlikely another driver would be driving that truck except me so the card could stay in

SJB:
These are easy questions that I should know but I don’t.
I’m starting a new job that’s very different to my previous work. There will be a lorry in the yard that I’ll be driving, but at least to start with, I could be doing mostly other work.

Could someone be so kind as to tell me the best way to handle the tacho situation in this case:

I arrive at 9am. Put card in, do vehicle checks, do one delivery, back for 10am, the truck is then parked up and I spend all day on other work, I do a quick delivery at 4pm and then I go home.

Would I leave the card in on Other Work and keep walking back to it when I have a break to switch it to break? Or take it out at 10am and do manual entries on my return at 4pm (which I’ve never done before) - I thought you couldn’t record a break as a manual entry though, so won’t I get a black mark under working time if no break is recorded?

Sidenote: it’s unlikely another driver would be driving that truck except me so the card could stay in