Tacho exemption

OK In the distant past before I was a full time driver I used to work at a woodyard with a 7.5t at the time there was some sort of exemption that meant it could be operated within 50km of base without a tacho providing driving was not your main duty. For example I used to do the odd local delivery but my main duties were that of a buyer.

Does this exemption still exist and if so how does a digi cope with that.

There are mutterings where I am now about getting a 7.5t as a general runabout to replace an ageing LDV which is driven by whoever is surplus at the time. Obviously if I or the other HGV driver were to drive it we’d automatically be on tacho but we have a dozen or so machine operators who would be entitled to drive a 7.5t but would not have a tacho card.

Also when the driver cpc comes into force is that solely for regular drivers? or would the above operators be able to use the vehicle as it was not part of the regular duties.

Or have I dreamt the whole thing up.

Cheers.
G

8wheels:
OK In the distant past before I was a full time driver I used to work at a woodyard with a 7.5t at the time there was some sort of exemption that meant it could be operated within 50km of base without a tacho providing driving was not your main duty. For example I used to do the odd local delivery but my main duties were that of a buyer.

There are mutterings where I am now about getting a 7.5t as a general runabout to replace an ageing LDV which is driven by whoever is surplus at the time. Obviously if I or the other HGV driver were to drive it we’d automatically be on tacho but we have a dozen or so machine operators who would be entitled to drive a 7.5t but would not have a tacho card.

Also when the driver cpc comes into force is that solely for regular drivers? or would the above operators be able to use the vehicle as it was not part of the regular duties.

Cheers.
G

Are you sure all the machine operators can drive a 7.5 tonner? 1997 rings a bell :wink: