Tacho Advice

Hello all, im looking for some advice regarding tachograph rules.

I’ve been driving for 26 years and this issue hasn’t come up very often.

I believe tachograph regulations were revised a few years back and i’m not sure if this rule was dropped or not as all online info doesn’t mention it.

It used to be that if you started at say 3am on your first shift then this was taken as the reference point for the start of every 24 hr day there after.

So if i started at 3am on Monday then by 3am on Tuesday, Wednesday. Thursday, Friday, Saturday and (Sunday if you worked a sixth shift) you must have had a daily rest period.

It basically stopped you from getting 7 or 8hr differences in your start times through the week.

Can anyone advise?

Many thanks.

Your daily rest period must be completed by your start time from the previous day. There is nothing to say you can’t continue to rest past 0300 in your example but you must have had at least 9 hours (11 if you have no reduceds left) by 0300. Your weekly rest period must be completed within 7 days of your first shift since your last weekly rest period. There is no legal way that you can start at 0300 on a Monday and drive every day of the week except:

Monday - Saturday 0300 starts. Finish 1700 on Saturday. 24hr reduced weekly rest. Start between 1700 and 2359 on Sunday and work nights.

There is no reason why your boss couldn’t start you at 0300 on Monday for a short run. Park you up or send you home at say 0900 on the same day and ask for you to start again at 2200 that night. I personally would refuse as I wouldn’t get sufficient good rest, I’d say no on the grounds of Health and Safety. There is no reason however why he couldn’t ask.

I dont know if its relevant to the question asked but your weekly rest will have to start on/before 03hr00 on the Sunday. (6x 24hrs from end of previous break, i.e. the start of current week).
Are you looking at
gov.uk/drivers-hours/eu-rules ?
That`s the Gov site.