T.U.P.E

after getting 90 days notice on friday that we have lost our contract to another company i looked into the tupe rules and see that there is what i see as a getout clause for the new company…ETO…i read it as if the new company can say sorry we cant honour the terms the old company had as it would not be economically viable then i have to take the cut or leave with no comeback of unfair dismissal?
am i reading this wrong?
anyone had good or bad experience of tupe?..its my first time…should i be looking for another job?

looking for a Job?
Better ask your Office for a Meeting and pop in with wife and Kids,explaining them why a Cut is not liked,but avoid loosing your Job

Tupe , used to be that the incoming company had to honour terms and conditions (excepting pensions and a couple of other bits) but i think that it was subject to a time limit.
e.g. for a maximum of 12 months.
No idea if it has altered recentley.
redundandcy entitlement IS TUPE’d across, you take your years with you.
If your terms are too expensive for the incoming company to handle they cannot claim that it is uneconomic as they would have had this info before negotiating the contract takeover and would have based their offer on this info
I could easily be wrong though!

(with all the typo corrections I have just done I think that i must have “immigrants” keyboard :smiley: )

Been quite a lot of this in the car transporter game over the last 10 years.

If you are in the union and have good reps then you stand the best chance of being TUPE’d over, but thats not to say the union will do anything should the company refuse to take you on, though they should.

Whatever happens you drivers must stick together and be prepared to take on the company if they don’t want to play ball.