Switching Canadian CDL to US CDL

Hi there,
will move from Canada to the States soon and try to figure out if I can switch my Canadian CDL to a US CDL.
I’m German citizen and hold an Alberta CDL and I’m a lawful permanent resident of the United States now (Green Card).
Seems that I have to take all tests again in the US :imp:

Anybody has experience?

Tom

Yes i know off a an ex Bison driver that had a US green card (HE was Swiss) and he couldnt make his mind up wether to stay in Canada on a work permit or go to live in iirc North Carolina.
He decieded to move to NC and iirc had no bother exchanging his Class 1A.
There are people on here that have done it the other way round an MN ----to MB.with no problem
jimmy.

You have 90 days I think to run with your Canadian CDL I believe, but as you know you are moving here long term I sugest you just go to the local DMV and exchenge it, it’s easier than trying to exchange a European licence (which is a deffinate non starter).

Thanks guys,
but it seems to be that I"ll have to take all the tests again. Couldn’t find any official website of the DMV which stated to switch a Canadian CDL, only CDL’s from other states within the U.S.

Tom

Passed my CDL Test in Texas today :smiley:
No chance to switch a Canadian CDL to a Texas CDL!
Had to take all tests - Five multiple choice tests on the computer:
General Knowledge Test
Air Brake Test
Combination Test
Pre-Trip Test
Texas Road Rules Test

Then the skills test, Air Brake (explaining how to check air brakes) at the truck
Road test (driving for about half an hour)
Backing and parallel parking.
That’s it, no walk around pre-trip at the truck, it’s only the pre-trip on the computer :smiley:

35 years ago I passed my first CDL Test in Germany
4 years ago in Canada
and now Texas
hope this was my last test!

Tom

Congratulations. So Texas is your new home now? That will certainly be different in the winter!

robinhood_1984: