Swaping a US CDL for a Canadian one?

Hello all, I am new to this fourm. Im origanly from Ireland now working in England on low-loader/ Heavy haulage work. I’ve been thinking about moving to Canada for a long time now. In 2010 I drove a truck on the harvest run from Texas to Canada.

I’ve got a Class A Minnesota CDL with Doubles/Triples and was wondering has anyone on here ever swapped a US CDL for a Canadian Class 1?

Also when you get PR is it possible to move Provence?

Has any one on here ever done the harvest run and then gone straight into Canada?

Thanks, Michael.

Yeah, Allicat did … then got deported :laughing:

yup ,there is someone on the forum that has done the swap.
Even on the harvest run and you want to come to Canada you still need a LMO,Twp etc.
and it was a ND to a Minnesota licence to MB> one.
will let him know if i catch him.
jimmy.

Thanks for the Info Jimbo. I was going to do another harvest run and then go to Canada I think a TWP can be sorted at the border.

mind you need a job set up in Canada before you pick up a TWP at border.

Mick 320:
Thanks for the Info Jimbo. I was going to do another harvest run and then go to Canada I think a TWP can be sorted at the border.

Hello Mick, the answer is yes. I’ve done the very thing you asked and as Jimmy says ND - MN - MB. The thing is, I think your CDL has to be valid. My ND CDL expired 2011 along with my H2a visa but I went back to the US last year while waiting for my LMO to come through and I swapped the expired ND CDL for a MN CDL (I just had to do the MN knowledge test). Once the LMO came through it was an easy task to swap it for a MB class 1, all I needed was my work permit and MB medical card and that was all.

Thanks for the info Sats. My CDL is reads valid until June 2014. I might even be able to switch it without doing the harvest again.