Super singles

What are super singles?

I hear it when people give a description of a truck spec, I know it’s something to do with the tyres but that’s all?

Don’t shoot me down for the dumb question, but you only know something if you know something

No problem with asking anything in this game, it’s not like you are taught anything important when you get your licence…

Now I’m far from an expert as I’m only a steering wheel attendant really :laughing: but yes super singles are basically axles that only have one wheel each side that I believe are considerably bigger than the old size wheels which would have had 2 each side. One of the old hands will be along in a minute to confirm :wink:

I was a tyre fitter when Super Singles came out, mid 70’s I think. It was an enlarged rim with only 1 tyre fitted, as opposed to 2 rims and 2 tyres.Original tyre sizes were 10.00 x 20 crossply with a tube and flap fitted to a 2 or 3 piece rim. Then we got 11 x 22.5 x 20 Tubeless tyres.
I think I got the sizes right but it is a long time ago. :smiley:

Nowadays would be a 385/65r 22.5 tyre. Basically a trailer wheel.

DAF_Daily:
Don’t shoot me down for the dumb question, but you only know something if you know something

There’s no such thing as a stupid question, ever.

Certainly not in this business with all the strange terminology: susies, fifth wheel, RBTs, PMIs, ADR, driveaway etc. The one that always got me was “spreadover”, why not just call it your “shift”?

Try this for a helping hand
optimumdrivinggroup.co.uk/ultim … ng-jargon/

Incidentally, while we’re on the subject of single tyres vs double tyres, one benefit of singles is that it gives a wider “track” (distance between the wheels on either side of an axle) which can lower the centre of gravity of the load, making the whole thing more stable. That’s why a tanker will invariably have a tri-axle setup made of single wheels, as it will help prevent rollover caused by lateral (sideways) movement of the liquid.