Struggling New Class2 Driver

Hi guys,

As the subject line says, I’m new to HGV driving (passed everything 20th December), and I’ve been looking everyday since then for work. But unfortunately it seem that everyone out there is wanting experience, even the agencies are showing experience needed, anything ranging from 6 months to 2 years. Is there any other way of getting experience as so far I haven’t even had any unsuccessful replies, let alone ones moving onto the next step. I’ve even offered to do a couple of days voluntary or just going out with other drivers to build up my experience but with no luck.
Any help would be greatly appreciated guys.

It might help a bit if you tell us where you are.

Anyway, agencies are only rarely the way forward. You need to get out there and knock on doors. Visit everyone around who runs trucks. Go clean and tidy and try to talk to the decision maker (Transport Manager or owner). Make friends with them. If they don’t have anything for you, ask them who you might try next. If you are still looking in a couple of weeks, pop back and see them again.

Successful people are prepared to do what the average person will not do. It may not be easy but it is your best chance and has worked for many on here, including me.

Sorry about that, I live in Hartlepool.
I think the most annoying thing about all this is there is plenty of work out there, but unfortunately I don’t have the extras to go for them (HIAB, EPIC, CSCS etc.), and I’m not in a position to be able to afford to get them at the moment.
I’ll have another run around all the local businesses and see if I can get my name out there a little more.
Thanks Alan, nice to know that there’s a place like this on here where us new guys can get an experienced view of things.

Private message sent - check your inbox.

How far from hartlepool would you travel?? Fracks over in Newton Aycliffe where advertising very recently also a couple of firms in Durham.