STGO

Hi Guys,

This is probably in the wrong place but I was wondering what you have to do to drive stgo. I’ve looked all over the internet and can’t really find anything. Do you need to do any tests or course? I’m new to driving. I’m doing my cat 2 at the moment. Wanting to do something above the norm and fancy heavy haulage.

Sorry if this is in the wrong place.

Thanks

You can drive any rigid goods vehicle even one over the normal legal limit of 32t on a cat C licence.

As far as I’m aware no test/courses , it’s just Woking your way up the ladder ,heavy haulage seems good apart from when it’s ■■■■■■■ down/windy/snowing lol

You are likely to need upgrade to Artic licence (Cat C+E), plus experience and then it is down to company whether they use you for STGO work - no special test/licence reqd.
A good place to start might be plant transport - delivering/collecting dump trucks/fork-lifts & the like, even on rigids before taking C+E test…then moving on to STGO

Thanks guys.

That’s my plan. Find a job then do c and e.

Smoggie89:
seems good apart from when it’s ■■■■■■■ down/windy/snowing lol

I move forklift trucks on a rigid and your so right with that comment :laughing: :laughing:

I always have a second look at the chains when I see a load and always wonder how they keep the load on (well most of the time lol) same as when I started on containers , even now I have second thoughts about the twistlocks

Just ratchet straps allowed for me as chains scratch the paint on new trucks :laughing:
We used bottle screw years ago to strap tanks down on the military ships.

I don’t even know how to use chains lol , used them in the army but haven’t a clue how to use them now been so long, how many chains would be used to tie a CAT dumper down ? 4/6 ?

:laughing: :laughing: :laughing: same here :laughing: :laughing: :laughing:

Smoggie89: