Statutory Sick Pay

I am currently on the sick after a hernia op (had it on Tuesday) and the consultant has signed me off for 2 weeks.

I am an agency driver and work between 2 agencies. Both of them have told me that they don’t pay SSP, yet HRMC have told me that I am entitled to it.

HRMC have told me that if I can’t get it then I can begin a dispute. My concern is that if I rock the boat then I’m not going to get any work when I’m fit to return.

What I want to know is whether anyone else on here has had a similar experience, what happenned and what the outcome was.

Cheers in advance.

As you currently have an incapacity then go for ESA - you need a sick note and a read of THIS - hope it helps

Your entitled to SSP the company wont be out of pocket as the Gov pays them its them being ■■■■■■■ as its paper work that they have to do

ROG:
As you currently have an incapacity then go for ESA - you need a sick note and a read of THIS - hope it helps

Thanks, for that Rog. Been in contact with local jobcentre and that’s exactly what they’ve told me to do. 50 mins on phone to complete the application :open_mouth:

I thought you could just claim SSP through the agency as it comes out of Golden Brown’s pocket and not theirs. Apparently it’s not as cut & dried as that.

ROG:

migs69:
Thanks, for that Rog. Been in contact with local jobcentre and that’s exactly what they’ve told me to do. 50 mins on phone to complete the application :open_mouth:

You’re welcome - the phone call should be FREE as I’m sure it’s an 0800 number :smiley:

I should have warned you to have a large mug of tea ready !!

migs69:
I thought you could just claim SSP through the agency as it comes out of Golden Brown’s pocket and not theirs. Apparently it’s not as cut & dried as that.