Starting Up

Hi folks, im a bit of a newbie and Im just about to book my medical and training. Ive always wanted to drive trucks as my dad has always done it and Ive always enjoyed travelling with him coupled with a enjoyment of driving anything. Im finally in a position to do it but am now apprehensive as ive heard lots of horror stories about when i pass my licence i.e. no jobs except limited agency work for new drivers until ive held a licence for two years. Im currently in full time employment which im not fond of but its guarenteed money. Im worried as giving up full time work for a maybe when I have three kids at home isnt smart. Ive spoken to the instructor where im going to do my training and he assures me that this is not the case and companies overlook the two year rule but im still not convinced. Please folks, advice wanted :question: :question: :question: thank you.

If its what you really want to do, and you can afford, take your test anyway.

Unless you lose your licence or have a medical problem, they can’t take it away from you.

Some folk want you to have driven HGVs for 2 years, others just have an insurance stipulation that you must have held the licence for 2 years.

Get it done and your 2 year clock will have started.

Or maybe just do an assessment drive, you might hate it.

bigchris55: