Starting from scratch.

Hello all.

Looking for the not to often spoken bits of advice.

I’m full time with the army but I’ll be leaving in a couple of years. I have no experience within the haulage trade but I’m ready to go, class one, Cpc, smart card. It’s all good to go.

I know I’ll be mostly working for agencies on weekends and evening, a couple of weeks here and there on leave but I’m after anything that might help.

I.e. Does a lorry driver need to wear steel toe caps? Is there anything I can do to make myself stand out a bit more? Like health and safety courses or alike? Do you do an assessment drive when on agencies? Also a few tricks with the tachograph.

That last one might be a secret to most, but I’m certain it’s not as clean cut as everyone makes out, I need to learn about wtd but are there little secrets? Ways to extend the hours without actually taking the breaks. The sort of thing I mean is like a bloke I knew used to sprout a load of crap mostly, but he mentioned turning it into other work when In traffic etc…

Like I said, anything will help.

Hi.
Be prepared to take the crap jobs they will pobably offer you in the 1st place…be it 7.5tonners.Class 2/1.

Wasting your time with health & safety courses i would of thought…As you’ll get all that on your induction…But if you want to stand out a bit more…Adr & hiab would be a better idea…As for steel toe caps…You will have to wear them at every site you visit or work at…But not compulsory to wear them when driving…

The only way to extend the wtd limit…Is to use a thing called poa.And of course your breaks…As for your mates little secret of turning it onto other work in traffic…He’s talking crap.As most digi tachos automatically default to that when the vehicle stops…Some default to rest…But you’ll see that when you drive it…

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk