Starting down the HGV road

Hey folks,

Sadly I was made redundant last year due to covid, and it’s looking like there won’t be any chance of jobs in the same industry for at least a year or two. I’ve zero experience doing anything else and don’t want to have to stack shelves! I’ve always loved driving so HGV seems to be a good choice for the short to medium term. I’ve got my provisional sorted and booked my theory, Hazard and mod 2 for first week of Feb (although am not holding my breath for them going ahead with the current lockdown, am in the system at least!)

First question of what I’m sure will be many is what websites/apps/books does everyone use to prepare for the theory tests? There seems to be multiple sites and apps all offering similar things. Any recommendations?

Once tests are passed I’ll look to do the training, any schools recommended around Surrey/Hampshire?

Cheers!

Hi and welcome to the forum. I recommend drivingtheory4all.co.uk/

And, without a doubt, try forum sponsor Peter Smythe Transport Training Ltd for a residential training course at Trucknet discount rates.

Remember to ask for the Trucknet discount. Office number is 01623 555661

Not all training is the same and cheapest is rarely best.

Pete S :laughing: :laughing:

I traveled from canterbury kent to attend training with petesmythe training.I would highly recommend as it’s one of the best training providers in the country.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

Have you checked out all the relevant info contained within the link in my signature below :question:

I did my DCPC Online with VR Training Academy. Google them. Great rates and good Tuition via Zoom. I am booked in to do a 1 day Periodic training session tomorrow, £35.00 :sunglasses:

I did my DCPC Online with VR Training Academy. Google them. Great rates and good Tuition via Zoom. I am booked in to do a 1 day Periodic training session tomorrow, £35.00 :sunglasses: