Starting an Agency..........

Hello all. Just want a bit of advice from those of you in the know please.

I’ve been doing agency work for the past 6 months in the London area. I’ve been offered full time work from a few of the companies I have been sent to but have declined because I like the flexibility of agency work and the rates paid are good (class 1 mon - fri £10 -£13.50/ weekends £13.50 -£20 p.hr).
I have always fancied doing my own thing and have failed a couple of times. But it’s last chance saloon for me and I’m seriously thinking about starting my own driving agency. The bloke who I work for started 5 yrs ago after being “just a driver” like me. If he can do it - so can I. (And he’s driving around in a big shiny Merc now).
My questions & queries are:

1. What advice can any of you give me please?
  2. What rates would you suggest I charge (for London), considering my overheads will be minimal at first because I’ll be on my own working from home?
  3. Is it Transport Managers who decides which agency to use within differant companies? In other words, whose rear end should I be licking in order to start the ball rolling?
  4. Supplying hgv drivers is an unregulated industry at the moment, but are there any recognised bodies whom I need to get in with?
  5. Any ideas where I can get good, reliable drivers from? Where do I advertise? Am I allowed to ask any of you good folk if you were interested in doing a bit of work?
  6. anything else would be greatly apreciated. Thank you.
    (my email add is agencydriver1@hotmail.co.uk)

unregulated industry at the moment,

I maybe wrong, but i thought that all emplyment agencies had to be registered with the goverment…

as fpr trade bodies the Recruitment and Employment Confederation is the only one I know of rec.uk.com

This section of their website may help…
rec.uk.com/rec/training/sett … gency.aspx

it’s a pretty big step and you will require a bit of cash to start up.