Something I came across today

THIS REQUIRES A CHAT WITH THE INLAND REVENUE AS IT IS A COMPLICATED AREA OF INCOME TAX.
To cut a very long story a bit shorter, as some of you know, I am a self employed driver as well as driving on PAYE through agencies. Anyway, today I’m filling in my Self Assesment form for my Self Employed driving I do and I get to the Employment section which I need to fill in for the agency work I’ve done. So I’m going through it and I come to the section for “Expenses you incurred in doing your job” and the entry for Travel and Subsistence Costs.

Looking through the notes on the employment section it says that you can deduct the expenses of travelling on a business journey and defines a business journey (ones I can claim for) as “A journey you make to and from a workplace you have to attend to carry out the duties of your employment - but not if the journey is ordinary commuting or private travel”.

Going further, it defines Commuting as " travel between your home and a PERMANENT place of work. It defines a permanent place of work as a workplace you go to regularly which is not a temporary workplace.

Hmmm…interesting. Already the cogs are starting to turn.

Now as an agency driver, you know that you’re never at any place for very long so you don’t actually travel to the same place all the time to go to work. In other words, you don’t commute to the same place all the time. However sometimes you can go to a place for a few months at a time. So I looked at the notes for what it says about Temporary Workplace and here’s where it gets interesting.

A temporary workplace is a place you go to to carry out a task of limited duration or for some other temporary purpose. Sound familiar? Certainly sounds like agency work to me. To continue…You are entitled to a deduction for the cost of travelling between your home and a temporary workplace you have to go to, to carry out your duties.