Some advice?

Hi folks… newbie here looking for some advice!

I currently work in IT although the thought of sitting behind a desk for the next 20-30 years is killing me, so I’m looking at applying for a class 2 licence.

I have 2 kids and I enjoy the flexibility with my current employer, although I appreciate this is something which I will most likely need to give up should I pursue a different career path. In saying that, I wouldn’t mind working early starts or even nights for a while to get my foot in the door somewhere.

Are there any specific courses which would result in more flexible working hours (i.e. ADR training?)

The other thing concerning me is the amount temporary posts currently advertised by agencies as I’ve always had a permanent contract with all my previous employers. Is this the norm with most HGV drivers, or is it different if you avoid the agency route and seek employment direct with a client?

I’m really just exploring a few options at the moment, so any feedback or advice would be greatly appreciated! :smiley:

Cheers!

-Chris

It’s more apparent at the moment that agencies are recruiting. The job boards round here are filled with agencies looking. But just so you know, just because they have advertisements everywhere. It doesn’t automatically mean there are jobs behind the advert. There are also 2 firms in my area that seem to be recruiting permanently, that is a fairly bad sign it’s not a firm you want anywhere near.

My company is recruiting, but we refuse to advertise. It would see us inundated with applications at the moment. We get enough people ringing in on the off chance that keeps us ticking over. So there are permanent jobs out there, but you need to get on the phone to find them.