Sole trader to ltd company

anyone give me an insight as to whats involved and if you have done it yourself how was it, just an idea at the moment but looking for specifics on o license etc

Buying & setting up an “off the shelf” LTD company is quite simple, in fact the most demanding thing is probably going to be applying for a totally new ‘O’ licence as it’s thought of as a ‘different entity’ in the eyes of the licencing authorities.

Ross.

so to carry on as i am now with the same vehicle etc i would still have to reapply for a license if i changed to ltd?

yes you would!
if your not financed up to the hilt i dont think its worth it myself i’ve been a sole trader since 1997 and have run 1 truck without any probs
moose

chaversdad:
so to carry on as i am now with the same vehicle etc i would still have to reapply for a license if i changed to ltd?

Yep, the whole lot right from the start again. Newspaper adverts, proving financial standing, the lot. I went to a “new operator seminar” with vosa the other week and one lad who was there had been an owner driver for 26 years but because he had changed from s/e to ltd. they considered him a new operator so he had to attend.

Paul

chaversdad:

Absolutely 100% mate, I know a tipper bloke who went limited and got ‘collered’ 2 yrs later by Vostapo during a paperwork check at his operating centre. We’d already told him (we did his servicing / inspections at the time) he’d need a new ‘O’ licence and like the little ‘know all’ he is, he reconed he’d be OK as he’d been trading for over 20 years. They gave him 30 days (I think) to get a new licence, he did this with some frantic running about, now his ‘O’ licence reads ■■ XXXXXXX LTD!!

At the end of the day, as long as it’s covered by a licence what difference does it make? His trucks wanted for nothing, his pass rate at anual test was excelent and his tacho’s were OK (ish) By all accounts, the attitude of the LA was as if he’d been running on someone elses licence!!